The Authority of Christ

When men asked, “Who art Thou?”, He answered for the most part, “Whom say ye that I am?” It was as though He had said, “Am I anything to you? Have I any influence with you? Do I rebuke any evil spirit within you? Do I check some passion, or cool some fever of the blood? Do I make it harder for you to do wrong? Do I make it easier for you to do right? — Then, in that case, I am so far God to you, I am so far the Saviour for you. Act loyally by that appreciation of me which you yourself have formed. Let it take you as far as it would like to take you. Be obedient to whatever I have become for you. While ye have light, believe in the light, and walk in it. Do not put yourself off by raising etaphysical questions. DO I impress you as the Way and the Truth and the Life? Do I help you on towards what is best, or towards what at least is better than your practice hitherto? Then, once again I am for you, at your present stage, God, God absolute because God personal and immediate. I am He with whom you have to do.”

John A. Hutton pg19-20 The Authority and Person of Our Lord

Leave a comment